MINUTES OF THE STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON MONDAY, 23RD MAY, 2022, 8.50 - 8.55 PM

PRESENT: Councillor Barbara Blake (Chair), Councillor Reg Rice (Vice-Chair), Councillor John Bevan, Councillor Nicola Bartlett, Councillor Lester Buxton, Councillor Luke Cawley-Harrison, Councillor Yvonne Say, Councillor Matt White, and Councillor Alexandra Worrell

1. FILMING AT MEETINGS

The Chair referred to the notice of filming at meetings and this information was noted.

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor George Dunstall and Councillor Ajda Ovat.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

4. URGENT BUSINESS

There were no items of urgent business.

5. DEPUTATIONS / PETITIONS / PRESENTATIONS / QUESTIONS

There were no deputations / petitions / presentations / questions.

6. ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE 2022/23

Under s100B(4)(b) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Chair of the meeting was of the opinion that the late report and appendices should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency by reason of special circumstances. These circumstances are that the information about committees and memberships, which was due to be considered by Full Council on 23 May 2022, was not available at the time of agenda publication. In addition, it was requested that the additional information be provided so that it could be considered by the Strategic Planning Committee at its meeting on 23 May 2022. This was agreed by the Chair on 23 May 2022.

The Committee considered the report which sought to establish a Planning Sub-Committee for the 2022/23 Municipal Year, including noting the terms of reference for the Planning Sub-Committee.



It was noted that the proposed membership of the Strategic Planning Committee for 2022-23 was decided at the Full Council meeting on 23 May 2022, immediately prior to this meeting of the Strategic Planning Committee. The proportional split of the Strategic Planning Committee was 10 Labour councillors and 1 Liberal Democrat councillor and the membership was: Councillor Barbara Blake (Chair), Councillor Reg Rice (Vice-Chair), and Councillors John Bevan, Nicola Bartlett, Lester Buxton, Luke Cawley-Harrison, George Dunstall, Ajda Ovat, Yvonne Say, Matt White, and Alexandra Worrell.

It was proposed that the Strategic Planning Committee agreed that the membership of the Planning Sub-Committee was the same as the Strategic Planning Committee. It was highlighted that, should the membership change, the membership of the Planning Sub-Committee would continue to be the same as the Strategic Planning Committee.

RESOLVED

- To note the terms of reference of the Strategic Planning Committee and Planning Sub-Committee as set out within the Council's Constitution, attached as Appendix 1 to the report.
- 2. To agree the establishment of a Planning Sub-Committee with the same membership as the Strategic Planning Committee.
- 3. To note the Strategic Planning Protocol as set out within the Council's constitution, attached as Appendix 2 to the report.

7. NEW ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS

There were no items of urgent business.

8. DATES OF FUTURE MEETINGS

To note the dates of future meetings:

14 June 2022 20 October 2022 20 February 2023

CHAIR: Councillor Barbara Blake
Signed by Chair
Date